Home / How The Series Works

The BC Super Series is a collaboration between BC Athletics and 12 of BC's best road races, which bring the best athletes in BC together in competition and encourage participation from all abilities. Run four or more races to qualify for prizes.

The 12 races have been selected based on the quality of the events and the competitiveness of their fields. They include BC Championship races at 5K, 8K, 10K, Half and Full Marathon distances.

Please be sure to read Road Race Etiquette Guidelines and share with other series participants.

Qualifying for Series Awards

To be considered as a Series participant and thus be eligible for Series awards*, runners must complete a minimum of four (4) Series races, out of a possible 12.

Note: Where more than one distance is offered, only participation in the designated Series event is counted.


Scoring Performance Points

The points are calculated based on your gender, finish time and the race distance. Each race result produces a score between 1 and 1000.

  • Males: Score = (141000 / t) * D^1.0631
  • Females: Score = (167000 / t) * D^1.0425

where t = time in seconds; D = distance in kilometres; and ^ indicates exponentiation.

Throughout the Series, the points are added together from your best four (4) races, to determine your ranking among other participants.

Rankings will be posted after each event on this website and at subsequent events.


Awards & Awards Presentation

The final Series scores for those completing 4 or more races* will determine the male and female recipients of the following prizes, to be presented following the final race of the Series.

OVERALL: 1st - $1000, 2nd - $500, 3rd - $300, 4th - $200.

MASTERS: Top 3 age-graded.

JUNIOR: Top Junior (15-19).

* To receive BC Super Series prizing, you must be a member of BC Athletics: Competitive, Road & Trail, or Masters. A 2019 or 2020 membership, must be in place before the event day of the last event of the series.


Participation Recognition

Participate in 4 or more races and be eligible for draw prizes.

Participate in 8 or more races, and receive special recognition.