Catrin Jones and Shelby Drope Crowned 2018 Island Series Champions

The Synergy Health Management Bazan Bay 5K wrapped up the 2018 Vancouver Island Race Series with Catrin Jones and Shelby Drope crowned the overall series champions.

Jones final point tally was 822.4. Second in the women’s standings was Melissa Ross with 810.0 and third, Nancy Baxendale with 739.4 points. Baxendale was also top Master.

Drope won the men’s standings and was third overall with 809.2 points. Second in the men's standings was last years champion Nick Walker (795.4) and third and top male master was Mark Cryderman with 790.6 points.

Series age groups are determined by age as of Dec 31, 2018. The winners were:

M0115:  Parker Husu 699.3
M1619:  Jonah Brost 750.8
M2529:  Jonathan Behnke 780.2
M3034:  Shelby Drope 809.2
M3539:  Nick Walker 795.4
M4044:  Jerry Loeb 752.4
M4549:  Mark Cryderman 790.6
M5054:  Joel Bryan 765.8
M5559:  Dan Smith 696.0
M6064:  Gary Duncan 677.6
M6569:  Tom Oster 567.8
M7074:  Frank Towler 564.8
M7579:  Bill Hollingshead 477.4
M8084:  Lue Kerr 434.8
M8589:  Hazura Sangha 397.8

F0115:  Olivia Lundman 692.7
F1619:  Maddie Perry 694.5
F2024:  Andraya Walters 571.2
F2529:  Yana Hempler 704.4
F3034:  Sarah Lindstein 709.0
F3539:  Catrin Jones 822.4
F4044:  Carolyn Coffin 719.8
F4549:  Carolyn Swanson 716.2
F5054:  Teresa Lewis-Schneider 662.0
F5559:  Nancy Baxendale 739.4
F6064:  Lise Fraser 650.8
F6569:  Faye Amos 621.2
F7074:  Valerie Gonzales 551.6
F7579:  Gloria Sherwood 398.0

In an extremely close club competition, new champions were crowned as Ceevacs Road Runners prevailed by just 16 points over Bastion Run Club (3,147 to 3,131), with Prairie Inn Harriers third with 2,687 points. 

Eight races comprised the 2018 Island Series: the Harriers Pioneer 8K, Cobble Hill 10K, Cedar 12K, Hatley Castle 8K, Port Alberni Paper Chase 15K, Comox Valley RV Half Marathon, Sooke River 10K and the Synergy Health Management Bazan Bay 5K and Series Awards.

221 runners completed enough races to qualify for series awards, including 45 who ran all 8 races. Notable among them was Bruce Hawkes who's now completed 194 Island Series races, and should surpass 200 next year.

Full results are at