BC Athletics Junior Development Committee 2016 Annual General Meeting Sunday, Oct 30th, 2016 – Riverside Banquet Hall 14431 Knox Way, Richmond, BC V6V 2Z1

Meeting called to order at 2:30pm.

Voting Rules:

All Clubs present have 1 vote:

A Registration process will be required

A voting delegate per club must be identified and be approved by the President of the Club

The Committee members have 1 vote each

Any BC Athletics member can attend and speak at the Annual Meeting

Attendance: Graeme Fell – Chair and Vancouver Thunderbirds (2 votes), Birgit Weaver – Vice Chair and NorWesters (2), Maureen de St. Croix – JD Committee and Ocean Athletics (2), Dan Horan – Trail Track and Field and JD Committee (2), Tom Dingle – Peninsula Track and Field (1), Alwilda van Ryswyk- JD Committee and Kamloops (2), Dawn Copping – JD Committee (1), Sue Kydd – Universal (1), Ted de St. Croix, Greg White – BC Athletics Chair, Evan Dunfee, Amber Gilbert - Okanagan Athletics (1), Emily Ashbourne, Clay Terrell – West Van Track and Field (1) Florence Dingle, Tatjana Mece – New West Spartans (1), Besnik Mece – VOC (1) Total Votes=17

Absent: Bernie Katzberg, Tyler Heisterman – BC Athletics Liaison, Gordon Kalisch

- 2. Birgit Weaver moved that the Minutes from 2015 AGM be approved. Seconded by Dawn Copping. Passed.
- 3. Discussion: Evan Dunfee presented information on the new IAAF 'Pit Lane' rule introduced for Junior and Youth race walk competitions. The principle aim of this rule is to reduce, if not eliminate disqualifications.

Maureen de St. Croix withdrew the motion to decrease the JD Race Walk distances to come in line with the middle distance JD races.

Maureen de St. Croix moved that the JD Committee pursue the use of 'pit lanes' in JD race walk events. Seconded by Amber Gilbert. Passed.

Sue Kydd moved that the 13 year old Pole Vault event be removed from the BC JD Track and Field Championship event, and be moved to the BC Jamboree Championship event, with the athletes awarded and recognized as JD athletes. Seconded by Maureen de St. Croix. For 10, abstentions 2 Passed.

Maureen de St. Croix moved that the JD Championship sprint hurdle events (60mH and 80mH) have both heats and finals if the number of entrants in the event is greater than 8. Seconded by Amber Gilbert. Passed

Graeme Fell moved that the 200m heats be replaced with timed finals in the BCJD Track and Field Championships. Seconded by Amber Gilbert. Passed.

4. Reports from the 2016 JD Championship events

Cross-Country:

Oral overview of event given by Graeme Fell and Maureen de St. Croix as a representative of the meet host was not available. A formal report will be submitted by the host club, Nanaimo Track and Field Club

JD Pentathlon (attached):

Sue Kydd moved that the 2016 Pentathlon report be accepted. Seconded by Alwilda van Ryswyk. Passed

Track and Field Championships (attached):

Dan Horan moved that the 2016 JD Track and Field Championships report be accepted. Seconded by Alwilda van Ryswyk. Passed.

5. Awarding of 2017 JD Track and Field Championships:

The Okanagan Athletics Club won the vote to host the 2017 JD Track and Field Championships.

Awarding of 2017 JD Pentathlon Championships:

The Golden Eagles Athletic club won the vote to host the 2017 JD Pentathlon Championships.

6. JD Coach Award – Bev Larssen

Jane Swan Award – Dale Loewen

7. Election of JD Committee Board Members

Zone 3: Not Filled Zone 4: Not Filled Zone 5: Dawn Copping Zone 6: Not filled

Action item: Tom Dingle will recruit Island (Zone 6) representative

Zone 7: Not filled Zone 8: Not filled

At Large: Birgit Weaver will continue At Large: Graeme Fell will continue

At Large: Amber Gilbert (Okanagan Athletics) will fill position for 1 year

Maureen de St. Croix moved that election of JD Committee Board Members be accepted. Seconded Dawn Copping. Passed.

8. Election of Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary

Chair: Graeme Fell accepted nomination to continue as JD Committee Chair Vice Chair: Birgit Weaver accepted nomination to continue as JD Committee Vice-Chair

Secretary: Amber Gilbert accepted nomination to act as Secretary for the JD Committee

 Birgit Weaver moved that Amber Gilbert be accepted as JD Committee Secretary, Seconded by Maureen de St. Croix Passed

9. New Meeting Dates:

January 29th, 2017, April 2nd, 2017, September 10, 2017

- Sunday dates. Teleconference with option for local Committee Members to participate in person.
- 2017 AGM to follow 2017 JD Awards
- **10.** Tom Dingle moved that meeting be adjourned. Seconded by Alwilda van Ryswyk. Passed. Meeting adjourned at 4:10pm, Sunday October 30, 2016