BC Road Running Series, presented by Timex

BC Road Running Series, presented by Timex

25th Annual Running Room Shaughnessy 8K

May 28, 2006

On one of the busiest road race weekends of the year, the Running Room Shaughnessy 8K held its own and continued to be one of the more popular races of the weekend.

Overnight rains made most runners fear that it would be a very wet race, but the rain stopped and 440 participants in the 8K run and 5K walk were treated to near perfect racing conditions.

After finishing third overall in 2004 and second in 2005, Oliver Utting of Burnaby was victorious in 2006 to win with a great time of 25:24. Utting battled masters runner Norm Tinkham for the entire race. Tinkham placed second with a time of 25:36. Third Place went to young Tristan Simpson (26:00) of Delta BC.

Masters runner and former Olympian Leah Pells ran her very first Shaughnessy 8k to win the women’s race in a time of 28:54. Second place female went to Heather McEwan (30:35) and third place went to masters runner Leslie Black (31:36).

Age graded winners for this 2006 went to Leah Pells (86.29%) beating Lenore Montgomery (85.36%). Male Age graded winner was Norm Tinkham (87.42%) who beat Dave Reed (86.51%). Both Norm Tinkham (25:36) and Dave Reed (27:41) also set course records for their respective age groups 40-44 and 50-54.

Lions Gate Road Runners made the decision this year to eliminate the ‘chip’ timing mats at the start to create a wider start line and allow for faster “Gun” times, which as per IAAF and BCA requirements are to be used for official results. Chip timing mats were were however used at the finish line.

All in all runners were treated to a very well organized race by Lions Gate Road Runners. An email from race participant Lionel Edwards said it all…. “Perfect running weather, easy sign up, good parking, a well marked and managed course with a fine awards ceremony made for yet another fine Shaughnessy 8K.”

Full race results can be found here.