BC Road Running Series, presented by Timex

BC Road Running Series, presented by Timex

Hunt and Wodak first BC Champions of 2015. Maurice Tarrant sets Canadian age record

Damp, misty conditions greeted participants in the 2015 BC 8K Championship, also the first race of the Frontrunners Island Race Series and the BC Road Running Series — the Harriers Pioneer 8K. The race started and finished at Saanich Fairgrounds, and was hosted by the Prairie Inn Harriers (PIH). There were 606 finishers.

Vancouver’s Theo Hunt won the 36th Annual event in 24:59, 47 seconds off his personal best. Second was Port Moody’s John Corbit in 25:02 and third was Victoria’s Jim Finlayson in 25:47. Finlayson was also the top Master.

The women’s race was won by course record holder Natasha Wodak in 26:37. She dominated the field beating out last year’s winner Erin Burrett, who finished second, in 27:16. Burrett runs for the Bastion Running Club in Nanaimo. Third and top women’s master was Victoria’s Marilyn Arsenault, finishing in 28:19.

Read full article