BC Road Running Series, presented by Timex

BC Road Running Series, presented by Timex

Interior runners victorious at Spring Run-Off

March 18th, 2001, Kamloops – Penticton’s Brent Helland and Vernon’s Sarah Clark led the men’s and women’s fields in the fourth event of the Timex-Asics Series, beating out a number of Lower Mainland visitors who came to grab some extra points. This event is also part of the Interior Road Race Series.

Helland’s 33:58 put him just 5 seconds ahead of Ken Bell of Maple Ridge, who was the first master on the course. Kamloops’ Greg Johnson took third overall in 34:29. Rory Switzer of Kelowna and John Moe of Burnaby were second and third masters in 34:53 and 35:05, respectively.

The first five women arrived at the finish line within 41 seconds of each other, with no men mixed in among them. Heading this group was Clark, clocking 39:04. Vancouver’s Sandra Bogart outkicked junior Stephanie Hirtle of Salmon Arm to take silver, 39:29 to 39:30. Top three masters women were Leslie Black of Vancouver (39:43), Jeannie Whittingham of Kamloops (40:15), and Helen Cook of Vancouver (42:46).

For full results see Kamloops Ridgerunners’ site.