BC Road Running Series, presented by Timex

BC Road Running Series, presented by Timex

Series Finale: Labour Day Weekend 8k

start02September 1/02, Steveston — The question on some people’s minds was “Where’s Norm?” Just by showing up and even walking the course, Maple Ridge’s Norm Tinkham was in line for the $500 second place Series prize — if he completed his 7th race (first place and $1000 was already locked up by Colin Dignum). But Tinkham didn’t appear and others like David Polisi, Simon Driver, and Jeremy Mitchell benefitted by his absence. A few other key players who had 6 races until now were also conspicuously absent, causing some major changes in the scoring and some pleasant surprises for a number of age division contenders.

oconnorFormer (1996) series winner Kevin O’Connor wasn’t concerned with any of that, not being a qualifier this year. The 35-year old led the field over the out-and-back Steveston course, completing 8 km in 26:13. He was chased by two other “non-Series-qualifiers”, John McCrank (26:30) and Mark Cryderman (26:43). First male master was Mike Moon in 28:21.

Nancy Tinari finished off her Series with a victory, scoring another 30 points for first place woman overall and in her 40-44 age division. This was Tinari’s 7th race which moved her score to the top of the rankings. Her time of 28:38 kept her just ahead of Janine Moffett (28:44). Jackie Holloway, leader of the 45-49 Series division, crossed the finish line 3rd in 29:44 and secured her 4th place overall in the 2002 Series.

Race results are posted on the BC Athletics site.

The final points were tallied and the Series awards presented following the 8 km awards ceremony. Here are the top finishers (full listings in the Rankings section):

Women Points Prize
1. Nancy Tinari 210 $1000 from Timex
2. Cari Rampersad-Kuzyk 183 $  500 from Timex
3. Sheila Mullins 180 $  300 from Timex
4. Jackie Holloway 170 $  200 from Timex

1. Colin Dignum 210 $1000 from Timex
2. David Polisi 185 $  500 from Timex
3. Jeremy Mitchell 170 $  250 from Timex
3. Simon Driver 170 $  250 from Timex
(tie for 3rd)

See full Series results, including age division rankings: Women  Men

Congratulations to all who participated in the 2002 Series!