BC Athletes & Coaches Nominated for 10 Sport BC Awards

Sport BC, on behalf of the BC Sport community, proudly announces the outstanding amateur athletes, coaches, and officials, named as finalists for 14 of the 18 award categories to be presented at the upcoming Athlete of the Year Awards. We are proud to be the longest standing sport recognition event in Canada and this year signifies a historic achievement for sport with our 53rd anniversary.

The 53rd Annual Awards Ceremony and Gala dinner is set for Wednesday, March 13, 2019 at the Fairmont Pacific Rim. The ceremonies will recognize BC’s best in amateur sport including athletes, coaches, and officials for outstanding performances in their sport over the 2018 season. Each finalist was nominated by their Provincial or Multi-Sport Organization, High School, College or University. The Selection Committee, chaired by Bernie Pascall, included 15 highly regarded sportswriters, broadcasters, and amateur sport leaders in British Columbia.

“Each year the Athlete of the Year Awards selection committee reviews all nominations and recognizes the talented and deserving athletes, coaches and officials”, notes President & CEO of Sport BC, Rob Newman. “The nominees for the 2019 Sport BC Athlete of the Year Awards represent 25 sports and 16 various cities who are all representative of the strength and depth of sport development in our province over the last 53 years. Each year, we are grateful for the support and contribution of our sport and business partners and volunteers.”

"It's no secret, BC boasts many of the top athletes in Canada, we reviewed an impressive list of candidates for awards consideration." says selection committee chairman Bernie Pascall. "The excellent group of finalists, reflects the remarkable degree of sports development in BC."

An additional six awards will be presented at the ceremony including the Best of BC, KidSport BC Community Champion, Harry Jerome Comeback, Daryl Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award and In Her Footsteps Honourees.


BC Athletics is proud to announce the 10 Award nominees listed below:


Athlete with a Disability

Tristan Smyth (Maple Ridge) – Para-Athletics

Mollie Jepsen (West Vancouver) – Para-Alpine

Tristen Chernove (Cranbrook) – Para-Cycling


Female Coach of the Year

Pam Ross (Courtenay) – Karate

Christy Spurrell (Maple Ridge) – Sport Climbing

Malindi Elmore (Kelowna) - Athletics


High School Female Athlete of the Year

Nora Goddard-Despot (North Vancouver) – Field Hockey

Cara Butler (Victoria) – Field Hockey/Athletics

Taryn O’Neill (Lake Country) - Athletics


High School Male Athlete of the Year

Jarrett Chong (Port Coquitlam) – Athletics

Diego Maffia (Victoria) – Soccer/Basketball/Volleyball

Dario Ciccone (Burnaby) - Football


Junior Female Athlete of the Year

Camryn Rogers (Richmond) - Athletics

Desirae Ridenour (Cowichan Bay) - Triathlon

Jordyn Huitema (Chilliwack) - Soccer


Junior Male Athlete of the Year

Jerome Blake (Surrey) – Athletics

Tyler Tardi (Cloverdale) – Curl

Riley Pickrell (Victoria) - Cycling


Senior Female Athlete of the Year

Rachel Cliff (Vancouver) – Athletics

Shallon Olsen (Surrey) – Gymnastics

Kelsey Serwa (Kelowna) – Freestyle Ski


Senior Male Athlete of the Year

Django Lovett (Surrey) – Athletics

Bryan Abrey (Richmond) – Softball

Chris Crisologo (Richmond) - Golf


Master Athlete of the Year

Laura Ramsay (Vancouver) – Squash

Jackie Little (Procter) – Golf

David Guss (Kelowna) - Athletics


University Athlete of the Year

Yuri Kisil (UBC) – Swim

Regan Yee (TWU) - Athletics

Erika Seltenreich-Hodgson (UBC) - Swim


Tickets are now available through EventBrite: Purchase your Athlete of the Year Awards tickets here!