51st SportBC Athlete of the Year Awards

The 51st SportBC Annual Athlete of the Year Awards, Canada’s longest-running sport recognition event, took place Wednesday, March 8th, 2017 honouring BC’s best athletes, coaches and officials in 18 different categories. BC Athletics is very proud to announce the Athletes, coaches and officials who were the successful recipients of the 2017 Athlete of the Year Awards:

Male Coach of the Year - Gerry Dragomir - Racewalk West

This award recognizes a male coach who has been responsible for coaching an amateur team(s) and/or individuals at any level of athletic competition in British Columbia


Female High School Athlete of the Year - Zion Corrales-Nelson

This award recognizes a female athlete who was enrolled in a secondary school in the province of BC and who competed in a sport or sports, team or individual, representing her school in the 2015-2016 school year.


Male Senior Athlete of the Year - Evan Dunfee - Racewalk West

This award recognizes extraordinary athletic performance by a male athlete who is competing on a team or individual sport in BC.


KidSport Community Champion - Michelle Stilwell - WC Race Series Society

The KidSport Community Champion Award is presented to an individual who has made a significant and meaningful contribution to KidSport over the past year.


Presidents' Award - Sue Kydd - Universal Athletics

The annual Presidents’ Awards, now in its 23rd year, are presented to volunteers from Sport BC member and partner organizations who represent the spirit of volunteerism, and whose dedication, energy and commitment contribute to the development of their sport or organization in the province of British Columbia.


Awards Nominees

BC Athletics is also proud to acknowledge those athletes, coaches, and officials who were nominated as finalists for awards in their respective categories:

  • Lenore Montgomery (North Vancouver) - Master Athlete of the Year;
  • Camryn Rogers (Richmond) - Female High School Athlete of the Year; 
  • Jasper Schiedel (Vancouver) - Male High School Athlete of the Year; 
  • Nina Schultz (New Westminster) - Female Junior Athlete of the Year; 
  • Liam Stanley (Victoria) - Athlete with a Disability; 
  • Michelle Stilwell (Parksville) - Athlete with a Disability
  • Canadian World Racewalk Team (Vancouver) - Team of the Year; 

Congratulations to all finalists!


About Sport BC

Sport BC is the non-profit sport federation, representing over 60 Provincial Sport Organizations in British Columbia. As a member-based organization, Sport BC offers services and programs to build the capacity of our members and advocate on their behalf to improve the landscape for organized sport in BC.